New OC Banner - April 2016


Best Practice Awards Review

The IR Society Best Practice Awards

Now in their 16th year, the Self-entry Awards are open to all companies that wish to demonstrate their commitment to leading investor communications. This year’s awards saw over 170 entries. The overall quality of entries remains high and the process thorough and competitive. In 2014 and 2015, we streamlined the awards to reflect changes in the operating and regulatory environment that have led to the need for faster, clearer and more dynamic investor communications. In 2016, we added a new award category, Best IPO IR communications.

Entries are scored against criteria based on the Society’s guidelines for best practice in investor communications. We also ask companies to add a statement of their own to support the entry. This gives companies an opportunity to share their approach to the award and to highlight what works for them and their audience. Having completed the scoring on both a quantitative and qualitative basis, with expert input from independent third parties, the shortlists are submitted to a panel of judges drawn from users of annual reports and accounts. The winners are chosen from the shortlists and announced tonight! We would like to thank the judges (see right) for their time, including the support of Bowen Craggs in assessing the entries for the digital award categories. in addition, we would like to acknowledge the work done by Nicole Solomon and Laura Hayter in the initial assessment of all entries.

For the Voted Awards, which recognise excellence in individual and team investor relations, we are delighted to be working in partnership with WeConvene Extel who had helped us to address a larger audience and voting universe comprising the buy- and sell-sides. The nominations included 274 companies and 333 IROs, of which 23 were newcomers to the industry. 

Here's what the judges had to say about this year's entries:

Video produced by World Television